It appears that your web browser does not support JavaScript, or you have temporarily disabled scripting. The Explore website requires JavaScript enabled to operate correctly.

Find a trip

Where would you like to go?
What type of trip do you like?
When would you like to go?
More search options
574 Matching trips
Site Search

Brochures

Discover our latest brochures available online now, with hundreds of adventures to choose from.

E-newsletter

Be the first to hear about great new tours, competitions, special offers and unique departures.

Customer Feedback

Read reviews

Gift Vouchers

The perfect gift idea for any occasion. Send gift vouchers and create fantastic memories with vast trips and experiences to choose from.

Inside Vietnam and Cambodia extension VNC

Visiting: Vietnam
Tour Duration 20 Days
 

Reviews for Inside Vietnam and Cambodia extension

Travellers were asked to provide a review of the trip, including highlights and tips.

Tour notes

Each departure date has it's own dedicated tour note, detailing all you need to know about that tour. Whether you've already booked, or weighing up your options, please choose carefully the relevant itinerary for you.

We have the following different versions of the Inside Vietnam and Cambodia extension tour available at present.

Please select a date:

Download

Inside Vietnam and Cambodia extension reviews verified by Reevoo

30 reviews

Reviews from: Sort by:
Inside Vietnam and Cambodia extensionScores 9.1 out of 10 based on 30 reviews
(10 out of 10)

Jeremy

Stroud
This was a very intensive tour. Every minute of the day was used to capacity. It exceeded all my expectations and I would not hesitate to recommend it. The accommodation was as expected, the tour leaders were extremely knowledgeable and helpful. Nothing was to much for them. They were patient, humorous, kind and courteous. The tour was well thought out and the choice of restaurants excellent. I look forward to booking my next trip.
Confirmed traveller: 16 April 2016
Published on: 23 April 2016
(6 out of 10)

Susan

Overall we enjoyed the trip however there were some aspects that we would like to mention.
The group was 18 people which exceeded your published details regarding size (14/16)
The tour leader in Vietnam was adequate in that he moved the group from place to place (onto train flight etc) but because the group was so large there was very little opportunity for any individual interaction.
The tour leader in Cambodia was very good and his historical knowledge was excellent.
The hotels in Vietnam were good but not those in Cambodia. The hotel in Phnom Penh was in a Red Light district and frequented by prostitutes. There was no hot water in the hotel in Siem Reap
Confirmed traveller: 16 April 2016
Published on: 22 April 2016
(8 out of 10)

Marie

Taunton
Diem, the Tour Leader in Vietnam was well organised, very well briefed,efficient and involved. The leader in Cambodia, Som was rather laid back, with some organisation
but was well briefed on Temples. We were surprised that the hotel in Siem Riep was
not fully airconditioned in public areas as the weather was/is very hot and humid
(42 degrees). The 'cruise' scheduled for lake tonle sap, was a l;ittle fraught due to the
very low level of the water leading to the lake. The pick-ups and transport were
well organised and everything worked to schedule. One point we would like to
mention. Our surname starts with the letter 'A'. As a result, it appeared that the
hotel rooms allocated to us were always on lower floors, with limited views if any.
We think it would be fairer if a rota basis were used, giving us all an opportunity
of better rooms occasionally.
Confirmed traveller: 19 March 2016
Published on: 24 March 2016
(10 out of 10)

Confirmed traveller

This was a particularly interesting tour for 2 people who had lived through the Vietnam War (at a distance!). Compared to Cuba, visited 2 years before, it is much more economically vibrant. Hanoi is well, just motorcycles - and Ho Chi Min. Halong Bay is gorgeous - if the sun shines - and the train to Hui was fun. Hoi An is charming, if a little touristy, and try to afford a suit! Saigon has style and cocktails at the Rex are mandatory. The homestead on the Mekong and the local industries were the essence of Vietnam. Cambodia is different, poorer and dirtier but the Royal Palace in Phnom Penh is fairy tale and lunch at Raffles nice. If you like temples you'll be in heaven especially with the carvings at Bayonne and the trees still clutching at the ruins. A remarkable, revelatory holiday, unreservedly recommended.In terms of efficiency he was excellent, everything arrived on time and linked up perfectly. His knowledge of the country and history was secure and his own father's experiences during the war (and afterwards) were relayed with real feeling. He appeared well-known and popular everywhere we went and had good relationships with drivers guides, waiters etc. Occasionally, he allowed visits to temples/palaces to drift a little but usually because he was engaged in an interesting conversation with someone in the group. Overall he contributed strongly to the success of the tour.
Confirmed traveller: 16 February 2015
Published on: 12 March 2016
(8 out of 10)

Simone

Glasgow
Vietnam:
The tour happened during Tet (Chinese New Year ) holiday, which was not flagged up by Explore: shops shut, many restaurants closed, more expensive meals, local population on holiday in the same pretty and famous places as group - very crowded. I would not choose this time again.
My judgement of places could therefore be coloured by the crowded experiences:
- Halong Bay, very crowded, building 'Blackpool' attractions along sea front; In few years time it will be spoilt.
- Overnight train: super, very clean and comfortable carriages with duvets!
- Hue very good, also option of mausoleum visit. Biking there not really possible due to climate and lack of maps ( Explore to consider changing trip description).
- Marble mountain - not really worth the effort.
- Danang Cham museum - I would have liked more time (we had 25minutes only).
- Hoi An - nice (very crowded at Tet), food there excellent.
- My Son: thanks to Diem we drove out in the afternoon: peaceful and quiet - good. (Explore to change itinerary)
- HCMCity: very positive experience. Highlight: Presidential Palace, War Remnants Museum, can also thoroughly recommend Museum of Vietnamese History.
- Mekong Delta: homestay very good, good building and facilities, superb food; good exploration/sightseeing of local industries and of locality.
Tour leader Diem: good explanations, good organising skills, big thanks to him also for introducing us to Mie (dish in Danang) and local street food in Hoi An. Good availability of bottled water on bus.
Overall highlight: superb Vietnamese cuisine.

Cambodia:
Much poorer country than Vietnam, lots of rubbish beside highways. People though very gentle.
Phnom Penh: special city guide was so-so, quite tiring as he repeated himself so often. Changed itinerary around (Tuoi Sleng and Choeung Ek pm), resulting in beeing caught in evening rush hour to city. Recommend that Ing, our tour leader should lead the city tour.
National museum very good.
Drive to Siem Reap in very big bus was very comfortable. Stop at Skon (tasting all sorts of fried insects etc.) Village visit at Tonle Sap Lake and floating village cruise very good (not at all touristy).
SiemReap: overall very good tour of Angkor temples. Good explanations by Ing.
I would have liked more time at Banteay Srei (we had only 20 minutes, too short for the long drive, and to appreciate the superb and justly renowned carvings). We did not visit Terrace of the Leper King, Phimeanakas, and Baphuon, no sunset at Angkor Wat - Explore to change trip description.
Would strongly recommend visit to Angkor National Museum, well worth the $12 fee.

Highlights: Seeing Angkor monuments in their architectural development (from Rolous group to decline), Khmer cuisine;
Recommended restaurants in Siem Reap: Marum and Viroth's; restaurants in Phnom Penh: Kaboot, Van's (french cuisine in beautiful colonial building opposite main post office).
Tour leader Ing was very personal and genuine. Great ability to relate in an interesting way historic and economic facts, good explanations at temples. His English and pronunciation is excellent, therefore easily understood.
One issue though: I did not take part in option of sunrise at Angkor Wat. Was asked to leave hotel at 6.45 am, arrived at this time of day at 7.10 am at Angkor (even with hold-up at check point due to Angkor pass being with Ing) but had to wait at destination for over 30 minutes for remainder of group to finish option and proceed with tour. Also Banteay Srei temple visit too short (see above).

For Explore: it may be helpful to future customers considering this tour, to point out that the time spent in Siem Reap is full on with extensive temple visits. If people are not that interested in Angkor as a whole it may be better to choose a different tour offered by Explore.
Confirmed traveller: 27 February 2016
Published on: 09 March 2016
(10 out of 10)

Sarah Jane

Henley
In January 2016 I did the Vietnam and Cambodia trip.
From the minute I was collected from Hanoi airport I knew I was in good hands. There were 16 in our group, mixed ages and abilities.
Our wonderful guide Sun managed all of us with aplomb, plenty or coffee breaks and loo stops for those that needed them.

It's impossible to select a highlight, the whole tour was incredible. Hanoi was bustling a vibrant. Halong Bay, a place I've long wanted to visit exceeded expectations despite the overcast and drizzling weather.

The over night reunification train journey was an experience. Comfortable but very basic sleeping compartment.
I would definitely recommend taking plenty of toilet appear with you as there was none in the loo which by the morning was very smelly!
My sleeping sac was much appreciated on this trip. The 'duvet' and pillow provided had not been cleaned and smelled of the previous occupant of the bunk!

The home stay in Ben Tre was very much a highlight for me. The food and accommodation were just superb and the trip down along the canals of the Mekong in sampans with all the sights, sounds and smells was a great experience.
The gentleman who hosted our wonderful tea at his home in the delta was so welcoming and the tea he provided with so much local fruit was a triumph.

Our guide Sun was knowledgeable and very personable. He delivered enough information on all the sights we visited while making it digestible and hugely interesting. There was plenty of free time to go and explore on your own which was very welcome.

Hoi An was a sweet town, a little over touristy with too many shops all selling the same tourist stuff.
There were shops you could to to and have clothes made, some better than others. I had a very lovely silk jacket made in a shop called Tan Tan, they were good, very helpful but I did have to have it altered three times before I was completely happy with the fit. However, they did make it in 24 hours and for a fraction of the price it would have cost at home.

Cambodia also exceeded expectation.

Again our guide Voutah was wonderful, great sense of humour and very keen to ensure that we all had a good time. His local knowledge was great and the local guides were, especially our guide at the killing fields. This was grim, as was to be expected but something that was a must do despite the horrors. I learned so much about pol pot and his regime that I'd not fully understood before.

The temples were all breath taking a little overwhelming. By the end of my week I was totally templed out!
Angkor Wat exceeded all expectations and left me breathless.


I loved Siem Reep. It was a less frenetic town with some wonderful restaurants. Explore the back streets and find the restaurants where the locals go and you won't go wrong.

I had no tummy problems on my trip. I did drink bottled water and refrained from having drinks with ice.
Bottled water was supplied on the buses on all the trips every day and there were complimentary bottles of water in all the hotels.

I took US dollars and changed some into dong at Hanoi airport, this wasn't necessary as it turned out, because all shops, cafes and restaurants were happy to take dollars, although you did get small change back in local currency.
The same applied in Cambodia.
I wouldn't bother changing any dollars to local currency it just wasn't needed.
Dollars in good condition are essential but a few crumples and the odd tiny tear didn't cause any problems.

So to sum up. A great trip definitely recommend it a real must do. I was just blown away by Vietnam, it's people, culture and food and ditto Cambodia.
Take toilet roll with you for the reunification train trip and a good idea to keep some in your bag / pocket as not all local loos had some.

Sleeping sac definitely a must for the train and the head torch which I took I didn't need.
You might feel that the sleeping sac was a good idea at the hotels in Cambodia. The Silver River hotel in Phnom Penh wasn't terribly clean, I didn't have a problem but some members of the party did.
The Claremont hotel in Siem Reep was lovely, although the staff did have problems understanding English.
Confirmed traveller: 06 February 2016
Published on: 27 February 2016
(10 out of 10)

Mike

Northumberland
Highlights for me were the overnight train and the homestay. Excellent and knowlegeable guides in both Vietnam and Cambodia. An optional cookery session in Hoi An was very good. Local food was excellent and we did try street food a couple of times, with a bit of caution, and enjoyed it. Traffic chaotic but they do miss you if you move predictably.

Ho Chi Minh City felt a bit like a standard big city and not as Vietnamese as the earlier stops. Be prepared for a longish walk with your luggage at the border; there is a new Vietnamese border post and it is a bit of a hike to the Cambodian post.

Vietnam War anf Khmer Rouge relics a bit heavy going at times but well worth understanding. Some good museums. Would recommend the Women's Museum in Hanoi and the National Museum in Siem Reap - the latter a bit pricey at $12 and no photography but it adds to the temple visits.
Confirmed traveller: 06 February 2016
Published on: 25 February 2016
(9 out of 10)

Gillian

Fleet
The tour was well planned with a variety of interesting trips. Both Son ( Vietnam ) and Vutha ( Cambodia ) were excellent and well informed. There were so many great things that it is difficult to pick highlights. The homestay in the Mekong delta was wonderful, the family so caring and the food marvellous. The cookery class in Hoi An was delightful and delicious. The Cu Chi tunnels very thought provoking, the Killing Fields and Genocide Museum, heartbreaking but I would not have missed them. Finally the Temples at Angkor, just amazing!!
Confirmed traveller: 06 February 2016
Published on: 16 February 2016
(10 out of 10)

Sue

Worcester
Highlights: Just all of it!
Tips: Make sure you have some below the knee trousers and short sleeve (not strappy) tops for Cambodia
Confirmed traveller: 02 January 2016
Published on: 05 February 2016
(10 out of 10)

Roy

Salisbury
This was our first time in this part of the world and we think explore covered more than we expected.
Confirmed traveller: 09 January 2016
Published on: 14 January 2016