It appears that your web browser does not support JavaScript, or you have temporarily disabled scripting. The Explore website requires JavaScript enabled to operate correctly.

Find a trip

Where would you like to go?
What type of trip do you like?
When would you like to go?
More search options
571 Matching trips
Site Search

Other tours you might like

Brochures

Discover our latest brochures available online now, with hundreds of adventures to choose from.

E-newsletter

Be the first to hear about great new tours, competitions, special offers and unique departures.

Customer Feedback

Read reviews

Gift Vouchers

The perfect gift idea for any occasion. Send gift vouchers and create fantastic memories with vast trips and experiences to choose from.

Islands In The Sun TT

Visiting: Thailand
Tour Duration 14 Days
 

Reviews for Islands In The Sun

Travellers were asked to provide a review of the trip, including highlights and tips.

Tour notes

Each departure date has it's own dedicated tour note, detailing all you need to know about that tour. Whether you've already booked, or weighing up your options, please choose carefully the relevant itinerary for you.

We have the following different versions of the Islands In The Sun tour available at present.

Please select a date:

Download

Islands In The Sun reviews verified by Reevoo

11 reviews

Reviews from: Sort by:
Islands In The SunScores 7.5 out of 10 based on 11 reviews
(9 out of 10)

Danny

London
Ko Hai was my highlight. Powder sand and house reef which was great to explore. Watch out for small rocks. Water clarity great
Confirmed traveller: 03 April 2016
Published on: 14 April 2016
(6 out of 10)

Roz

London
I had a fantastic time on the trip and met some lovely people in the group. I really enjoyed the trip and there were a number of highlights, but I was disappointed by a number of aspects. This was my fourth holiday with Explore and I didn't think it was up to their normal high standards. I don't think the itinerary was well-thought-out. It seemed to make no sense starting the tour in Bangkok, when we could have easily flown directly to Phuket or taken an internal flight to Trang or Krabi after flying into Bangkok. Explore could easily offer a Bangkok extension for those who would like to see Bangkok at the start or end of the tour. I found it exhausting to get a 12 hour overnight train to Surat Thani a day and a bit after doing a long-haul flight. Following the overnight train, we travelled for another 6+ hours by mini-bus and boat to get to our first island destination. This felt like an unnecessary slog when we could have flown to the South and been on the first Island late the previous evening. 5 of us flew back to Bangkok from Trang at the end of the holiday, as we didn't want to take a 15 hour train journey back to Bangkok when we could fly for 1.5 hours and be there the previous evening. I also felt that given there is so much mass tourism in Thailand, the itinerary could be reviewed to include some more places a bit more off the beaten track. Koh Hai was absolutely stunning with turquoise waters, but sadly some of our other destinations such as Krabi had fallen victim to mass tourism and there was rubbish such as water bottles and plastic which had washed up on the beach. Whilst I'm really happy with basic accommodation I felt that a couple of rooms I stayed in were dirty and below the normal standard of accommodation provided on Explore trips. There was also a lack of consistency in the accommodation provided, as in two destinations I saw by complete chance that other members of the group had been allocated much more modern and cleaner rooms. It was great to see so much but I think we moved around too much - it would have been more enjoyable to take out one of the islands and have 3 nights in each place. Highlights for me were kayaking in Krabi, Thai massages, the sunsets and fire jugglers at Koh Lanta, the amazing dining room with the lanterns at the guest house in Krabi, the boat trip to the Emerald Cave, staying in Koh Hai and the Lady Boy Cabaret in Bangkok.
Confirmed traveller: 06 March 2016
Published on: 12 March 2016
(4 out of 10)

Confirmed traveller

New Years Eve on the beach in Koh Hai - I had a lovely group, the hotel was the nicest that we stayed at and the staff were very friendly.It wasn't clear if the leader, Nui, either didn't know the tour well or if she was just poor at communication. One the first night I was woken at 1am (?!) by the tour leader wanting to move my room mate to be into my room. She refused to move as she'd been told she'd have her own room that night and it was 1am. Why they tried to move her at that time I have no idea. We got used to what we referred to as 'Thai time', which basically meant that we doubled all travel times as a '2 hour' minibus transfer would actually be about 4 in reality. We also weren't informed of how cold the overnight train was so those of us on the top bunks barely slept due to not being prepared with the right amount of layers. My room mate and I were also allocated the worst / smallest rooms in each hotel and when we commented on this Nui just smiled. We were also told that the only place that we could ride an elephant was at Ao Nang, so I opted for this instead of the day trip to Koh Phi Phi. It is also possible to ride an elephant at Koh Lanta (as the trip notes said, but the guide said no) so I could've done both. Generally, we weren't very impressed with her.
Confirmed traveller: 02 February 2014
Published on: 12 March 2016

Thank you for your feedback. Our leaders are on hand to ensure that you get as much as possible from your trip so it’s also disappointing to read that you were unhappy with Nui – especially as she has led our tours for a number of years. We’ve discussed your comments with her and she told us that you were aware another member of the group would be joining you when she arrived later that evening. Clearly she should have clarified that it would be much later, so we apologise for the disruption. All the hotel rooms are allocated by the hotels and are generally of the same standard, if there are any larger/nicer rooms, we do expect our leaders to rotate them between the group. We’ve addressed all your points with Nui to ensure there isn’t a drop in her usual high standards.

(8 out of 10)

Craig

Sheffield
The trip was a good way to see some of the lesser known Thai islands. It is slower paced than other Explore holidays we have been on so would suit those wanting relaxation and a beach holiday interspersed with some sight seeing.

Highlights would include the boat trip to Phi Phi and kayaking amongst mangroves in Krabi.

The sleeper train was of a good standard (compared to others we have been on!), but nevertheless would still go armed with wet wipes as there is a full day of onward travel and activities. We would also recommend that you do some research on Bangkok as there is free time here and lots to see and do!
Confirmed traveller: 06 March 2016
Published on: 12 March 2016
(8 out of 10)

Brian

Birmingham
The 15 hour train journey on the last leg of the trip could do with looking at, just to long.
Confirmed traveller: 06 March 2016
Published on: 07 March 2016
(6 out of 10)

Juliet

Brighton
Last island in Koh Nai and the trip to the Emerald cave and the snorkelling on the same trip.
Prepare for a long and not particularly comfortable train trip to and from Bangkok, unlikely to get much sleep especially if on the top bunk - lights are on all night and the air conditioning can be a bit fierce,
Confirmed traveller: 10 January 2016
Published on: 18 January 2016
(7 out of 10)

Jo

London
Loved cycling around the first island. Seeing the elephants and hiking through jungle on last island. Would not recommend accommodation on Krabi. Would upgrade. Resort either side better. Would may be do a trip to Krabi town. Last resort very nice. I had a lovely room. But restaurant found not great. All in all though great adventure. I flew back so only one night on the train. I think train back is far too long followed by flight home. You should look into flights. Also new years eve entertainment was disappointing. Nice venue but no real entertainment for adults just kids. Would liked to have danced on the beach! I imagined it round be amazing. But it was very dull. Also disappointed with age group. I was told Explore was for younger travellers but apart from one they were 50s and 60s. Not really what I was after. Prefer younger crowd 30s and 40s.... that would put me off booking with Explore again.
Confirmed traveller: 03 January 2016
Published on: 05 January 2016
(9 out of 10)

Ian

St Albans
The 5 islands day-trip to Bamboo Island, Koh Phi Phi and the snorkelling was excellent.

This is not a high-energy fortnight though. Towards the end by prepared for a couple of days doing nothing on the beach with a book. Personally I would have swapped an extra day in Ko Lanta instead of Koh Hai.
Confirmed traveller: 14 December 2015
Published on: 15 December 2015
(9 out of 10)

Carole

Huntingdon
This was my first trip with Explore and I was a bit nervous of travelling alone (I'm a lady in late 40's). But I found it to be very well organised with plenty of information being sent to me so I knew exactly what I was doing and I had a wonderful time. The tour was great, lots to do if we wanted but relaxing as well and the Islands are beautiful. I particularly enjoyed the localised aspect and the diversity of the trips, from meeting a farmer and learning about their lives and the crops they grow to a speedboat trip to go snorkelling, and meeting the elephants and monkeys too. The accommodation is excellent and I liked that we could choose where to eat during the days, although it was a little more expensive per day than in the information. I chose the Islands trip as I'm not a fan of cities so the only thing that could have made this trip any better is if the tour ended in Phuket rather than having to return to Bangkok, but that's really a very minor thing. This is not a dressy holiday so take casual clothes and plenty of beachwear (sarongs are a good idea) but you must have something to cover knees and shoulders for the temples and it is very hot indeed so be aware of this and keep it lightweight. The guide was very informative and helpful, she made the 2 weeks very easy for us and I had a brilliant holiday!
Confirmed traveller: 13 December 2015
Published on: 15 December 2015