It appears that your web browser does not support JavaScript, or you have temporarily disabled scripting. The Explore website requires JavaScript enabled to operate correctly.

Find a tour

Where would you like to go?
What type of tour do you like?
When would you like to go?
More search options
520 Matching trips
Site Search

Other tours you might like

Brochures

Discover our latest brochures available online now, with hundreds of adventures to choose from.

E-newsletter

Be the first to hear about great new tours, competitions, special offers and unique departures.

Customer Reviews

Average Rating: Red-stars

Total number of reviews: 2,720

Gift Vouchers

The perfect gift idea for any occasion. Send gift vouchers and create fantastic memories with vast tours and experiences to choose from.

Rajasthan - Forts and Palaces DRD

Visiting:
Tour Duration Days
  • Ranakpur Jain Temples
  • Udaipur / Vic Johnson
  • Rooftop views
  • Drying chillies
  • Lake Palace Udaipur
Reviews for Rajasthan - Forts and Palaces 4.5 out of 5 based on 6 ratings.

Been on this tour? Why not share your experiences by adding your review

Add a review

Tour notes

Each departure date has it's own dedicated tour note, detailing all you need to know about that tour. Whether you've already booked, or weighing up your options, please choose carefully the relevant itinerary for you.

We have the following different versions of the Rajasthan - Forts and Palaces tour available at present.

Please select a date:

Download
4 Nick Speller, 03/12/14

What was the highlight or most memorable moment of your tour?

We were very impressed with the fort at Jodphur and also the hotel at this stop (the Bal Samand Garden Retreat).

Read more
 
4.5 MO, 01/03/14

What was the highlight or most memorable moment of your tour?

The hotels - often old palaces, sometimes with gardens/ lakes/ wildlife reserve attached. Particularly at Jodhpur, standing by the lake during a red sunset, watching a range of birds and flying foxes flitting around. Kumbalgarh Fort - spectacular evening sound and light display, and during the day, fascinating, beautiful and peaceful.

Read more
 
5 John Rowson, 31/12/12

What was the highlight or most memorable moment of your tour?

Camel Ride and village visit.

 

Read more
 
4 Dafydd Trystan Davies, 31/12/12

What was the highlight or most memorable moment of your tour?

The visit to Kumlbargh fort in the midst of many highlights. Great history and interest

 

Read more
 
0 Ros Bissell, 31/12/10
It would be very difficult to list trip highlights as there were so many but most notable about this holiday was that it exceeded my expectations. The hotels were all so full of characteur and in lovely settings. There were some long driving distances but I found it all very interesting and worth it for the amount of amazing places we saw. The architecture of all the temples, forts, palaces and havelis was stunning with such great craftsmanship. The camel trek in the desert was great fun and it was a privalege to be invited into local homes. Our guide was very knowledgable on all topics and very kind and conciderate. I did find the Rat Temple was not quite to my personal taste but it was an interesting experience and I am glad I went. I didn't feel there was as much hassel with beggers and hawkers as I expected and the best way to deal with any was just not to acknowledge them. I also recommend that visitors do vary their diet and not continually eat the local style food as our digestive systems find it difficult to tolerate.I felt it was a good introduction holiday to India and look forward to visiting the country again. (DRD- 26th November 2010)
 
0 Gill Coles, 20/09/10
Burning temple floors made me wonder why I had chosen to go 'In Style' and had to walk and not be carried in a golden howdah but this holiday had all the elements an Explore holiday should have! We did explore and not necessarily 'in style'. We still rode on trains, tuk tuks and camels, wandered round bazaars, ate in roadside 'services' and were introduced to the locals. Then came the evenings when we would drive through majestic gates and into the peace and quiet of the Indian version of a stately home. Meals were often served in deeply scented gardens which during the day would echo with the calls of peacocks and langur monkeys. So, back to those burning floors - a very thick soled pair of socks will help you stroll sedately across the courtyard and into the stunning, cool interior. (DRD- 2nd April 2010)
 
 
Submit a Tour Review
  1. Name(*)
    Please supply your name
  2. Email address(*)
    Please supply your name
  3. Your Tour (*)
    Invalid Input
  4. Summarise Your Experience
    Invalid Input
  5. Please review your overall experience and what your highlights were(*)
    Please summerise your experience
    max characters 800 (approx. 150 words)
  6. Tour leader name
  7. Do you have any feedback on your tour leaders performance?
    Invalid Input
    max characters 800 (approx. 150 words)
  8. What tips would you give to someone else booking this tour?
    Invalid Input
    max characters 800 (approx. 150 words)
  9. Overall, how would you rate your holiday? (10 Being Perfect)(*)
    Please rate your trip
  10. Do you have anything else to add?
    Invalid Input
    max characters 800 (approx. 150 words)

  11.   Can't read it - click to try anotherIncorrect answer to CAPTCHA