It appears that your web browser does not support JavaScript, or you have temporarily disabled scripting. The Explore website requires JavaScript enabled to operate correctly.

Find a tour

Where would you like to go?
What type of tour do you like?
When would you like to go?
More search options
461 Matching trips
Site Search

Brochures

Our latest  brochures are available now, with over 600 adventures for you to choose from.

Gift Vouchers

Send gift vouchers and create fantastic memories with over 600 tours & experiences to choose from. The perfect gift idea for any occasion.

E-newsletter

Be the first to hear about great new tours, competitions, special offers and unique departures.

Customer Reviews

Average Rating: Red-stars

Total number of reviews: 1,843

Maldive Dhoni Cruise MC

Visiting: Maldives
Tour Duration 8 Days
  • A Maldivian sailing 'dhoni'
  • Exploring islands
  • Sea turtle
  • Local children
  • Sunset out at sea
  • Tour Style: Classic
  • Tour Type: Small Groups
  • Tour Pace: Relaxed
  • Tour Comfort: Simple
 

Book now!

34 reviews for this tour

Been on this tour? Why not share your experiences by adding your review

Add a review

Tour notes

Each departure date has it's own dedicated tour note, detailing all you need to know about that tour. Whether you've already booked, or weighing up your options, please choose carefully the relevant itinerary for you.

We have the following different versions of the Maldive Dhoni Cruise tour available at present.

Please select a date:

Download
10 wendy Grimwade, 23/03/14

What was the highlight or most memorable moment of your tour?

Snorkeling in the drift seeing thousands of brightly colored fish and watching them being happy within their beautiful blue sea. Fen Bow island, warm breeze, chilled out sailing along to the happy song. Food was amazing, people on the boat lovely, a dream holiday. Having breakfast watching the spinner dolphins jump and spin always 7 times. Swimming with the turtles

Read more
 
9 Sharon Edge, 04/03/14

What was the highlight or most memorable moment of your tour?

The incredibly turquoise water and beautiful scenery, fantastic snorkelling (which included seeing lots of turtles, manta rays and a black tip reef shark), the brilliant crew who were so much fun, great company from fellow Explorers.

Read more
 
10 Vincent Perkins, 04/03/14

What was the highlight or most memorable moment of your tour?

The rooms are really small with a wider lower bunk and a very narrow top bunk. There is not much head room above the top bed, there is an opening window which provides a good draught at night .The walls in the cabins are open at the top and the bottom so there is little privacy. Beach towels and normal towels are provided. The food on the boat was good with fish and vegetable curries, rice, pasta, variations of tuna dishes and sometimes chicken. Tea is served early in the morning when you can watch the sun rise .Breakfast about 7.30. There was always fruit ,toast ,eggs and something different e.g. pancakes or little cakes. Alcohol was freely available. Beer was $3 a can and white wine $20 a bottle . The bill has to be settled in dollars on the last night. Water was free

Read more
 
10 Eva Kisgyorgy, 04/03/14

What was the highlight or most memorable moment of your tour?

When you look at travel brochures, it is hard to believe the photos they publish about the Maldives. I was right when I had doubts - because the reality is MUCH MORE BEAUTIFUL. We were often just sitting on the deck absorbing the view and noting every once in a while, that it felt like a dream...

Read more
 
10 Keryn Roberts, 04/03/14

What was the highlight or most memorable moment of your tour?

Snorkelling the reefs and visiting the local islands were definitely highlight! Most memorable moment arriving on the boat to where we staying for the night and ~30 dolphins were jumping in front of the boat it was just amazing!

Read more
Our Response

Thank you for your feedback.  It’s good to know you and your friends enjoyed yourselves so much.  We’d just like to respond to your comments on the customers on the other boat.  We know some of them weren’t so happy for various reasons, and we’ve been in touch with some of them.  But I really think if you all come on another trip with Explore, you’re much more likely to find yourself travelling with a like-minded group, whatever their ages may be.

 
10 Wendy Grimwade, 04/03/14

What was the highlight or most memorable moment of your tour?

Snorkelling, diving down and swimming with the fish and turtles. Snorkelling in the "drift" of, I think it was digaroo, it was like being on a convera bett in an aquarium. The food was amazing! At the age of 55 simply the best holiday ever.

Read more
 
10 Tania Wild, 04/03/14

What was the highlight or most memorable moment of your tour?

Finally getting to swim with the elusive turtle. Seeing hundreds of beautiful spinner dolphins. Afternoon tea and cake.Spectacular scenery....so much to mention I could go on forever.

Read more
 
9 Alison Blant, 26/02/14

What was the highlight or most memorable moment of your tour?

It was amazing to snorkel in a warm, blue aquarium of the Indian Ocean. I have never snorkelled before and all the crew and everyone else helped so straight away I could experience a different world. We saw dolphins, mantras, turtles plus millions of fish!

Read more
 
9 Alison Butler, 21/02/14

What was the highlight or most memorable moment of your tour?

Seeing sea turtles while snorkelling in the lovely turquoise water.

Read more
 
7 , 27/01/14

Name

Pamela Stewart

Tour Name

Maldive Dhoni Cruise

Tour Code

MC

What Was The Highlight Or Most Memorable Moment Of Your Tour

Where do I begin, blue seas, white sand, the total relaxation of going around the ocean on a basic but sufficient boat, the fantastic food prepared every day, the dolphins, the turtle we rescued and not forgetting the fantastic group of people I met, who really did make this holiday so special.

Tour Leader Name

Bongo

How Was Your Explore Tour Leader

The crew led by Bongo and Captain Mo were fantastic, nothing was too much trouble and they looked after us all so well especially on the snorkelling trips, our safety was the top priority. Bongo led the crew with a quiet efficiency and they all made their roles effortless, a sign of a well run ship I think. Bongo was very knowledgeable of his home, the sea and the beautiful wildlife, not sure if at times his attitude was laid back or sometimes a little disinterested after having done this job for so long but always polite and would answer any questions when asked.

What Tips Would You Give To Someone Else Booking This Tour

This was my first trip travelling solo and I don't think I could have chosen a better one for my first adventure. so if your not sure just book it. Of course the group do make a huge difference, but hey isn't that what adventure holidays are about. Go with the mind that the accommodation is very basic but clean, no hot running water, take factor 50 and pack light. If you have not snorkelled before, like me don't worry,you will be very well looked after and don't need to take your own equipment, what they have on board is sufficient, this is a tour of total relaxation so embrace this, you will wish you were back there once you get back to the hustle and bustle of the UK. There is a basic shower room at the airport if you have a wait for your transfer but no towels provided.

Do You Have Anything Else To Add

For any travellers departing from the North of the country on an early flight, this is a downside, Explore do not seem to cater for this with regard to transfers, My flight arrived at 08.30 in the morning and after travelling for 24 hours door to airport, arriving and been promised by the agents on my arrival they would have me picked up at 12.00, which to be fair I knew about I was still sat there at 14.30, the efficiency and concern of the people Explore use at the airport left a lot to be desired, it was only after having lost my temper did they eventually send Bongo to collect me. A distressing start to my holiday, so this is something I feel explore need to look into and manage the expectations of clients that do not just arrive on the Sri Lanken airways flight from London.

Our Response

Thank you for your review. I’m sorry you were disappointed with your transfer arrangements from the airport.

Due to your flight times from Manchester, I understand you arrived two and half hours before the group flight. As the boat was being cleaned for your arrival, the crew can’t let anyone check in before 12.00am which I understand you knew prior to travel.

I appreciate due to your flight times and the uncertainty of checking in early on the boat, our reservations team informed you to go to Voyages Maldives counter (number 34) in Male airport where they would advise you if you could make your way to the boat. However, I understand the airport staff informed you that Bongo would be coming to pick you up instead. There must have been a mis-communication between our local agents and I do apologise for the time you had to spend waiting at the airport. Please be assured that our local agent has been made aware of your feedback to ensure that a similar situation does not reoccur in the future.

 
 
10 , 24/01/14

Name

Rebecca Poulton

Tour Name

Maldive Dhoni Cruise

Tour Code

MC

What Was The Highlight Or Most Memorable Moment Of Your Tour

The variety of marine wildlife, my expectations were exceeded.

Tour Leader Name

Bongo

How Was Your Explore Tour Leader

He was a great tour leader, very knowledgeable and helpful and fun, all the crew were the same, nothing was too much trouble, they went out of there way to show you wildlife and make you holiday memorable, and it was.

What Tips Would You Give To Someone Else Booking This Tour

Book two weeks! Prepare to relax and enjoy with plenty of snorkelling and swimming and socialising.

Do You Have Anything Else To Add

My expectations were truly exceeded, as I said the weather the food, staff, wildlife and scenery, every day we saw something wonderful.

 
9 , 06/01/14

Name

Helen Sharp

Tour Name

Maldive Dhoni Cruise

Tour Code

MC

What Was The Highlight Or Most Memorable Moment Of Your Tour

Snorkelling with the Mantas. Seeing more of the Maldives from the idyllic picturesque islands, sandbars popping up out of the stunning turquoise waters, visiting public islands to get a feel of the local culture to an amazing and colourful array or marine life. The weather was perfect as well. The BBQ in the beach was fantastic - a great surprise!

Tour Leader Name

Bongo

How Was Your Explore Tour Leader

Friendly and attentive. Great at keeping an eye out for dolphins, mantas. Overall the team was very good - safe cruising by the Captain. Excellent meals on board with great variety including fresh fish. Nice simple touches like laying out towels creatively (swans)in the rooms, always there to help with snorkel gear etc. Feel Bongo could have given better briefings - what was in store each day etc. Would recommend getting everyone on the same boat for the daily overview to ensure we all get the same details. No need to go overboard but a 5-10 collective update would add to the overall experience.

What Tips Would You Give To Someone Else Booking This Tour

Boats are simple but comfortable so don't go expecting 5* however the ability to see more of these stunning atolls should be the focus and let's face you spend most of your time in the water! Probably not a good option if you don't like to swim as you will miss the amazing marine life and perhaps feel a bit boat bound. You need to be happy to integrate and mix with others as you are on a boat.

Do You Have Anything Else To Add

The choice of location for the first night's stop was not the best with a view of the goal. Appreciate it was getting late and we were kindly picked up from Maafushi but could have anchored at other end of the island given calm waters.

 
8 , 05/01/14

Name

Brian Kirk

Tour Name

Maldive Dhoni Cruise

Tour Code

MC

What Was The Highlight Or Most Memorable Moment Of Your Tour

Diving in crystal clear water, often with Rays, Shark, and gazillions of fish.

Tour Leader Name

Bongo

How Was Your Explore Tour Leader

Very laid back !

What Tips Would You Give To Someone Else Booking This Tour

Travel light (There is very little space in the cabins!) , we flew hand luggage only, leave shoes and warm cloths behind. You'll be in your swimmers most of the time. Don't expect to do much exercise on this trip !

Do You Have Anything Else To Add

We caught fresh fish most days. The food was excellent ! There is a UK type plug in each cabin (works during the night when the generator is running) Good for charging cameras, etc Highly recommended !

 
9 , 04/12/13

Name

David Antcliffe

Tour Name

Maldive Dhoni Cruise

Tour Code

MC

What Was The Highlight Or Most Memorable Moment Of Your Tour

The multitude of blues in the Maldives (the sky and the sea). The sunrises and sunsets on the boat. The company was great too. The evening meal on the desert island was brilliant and thanks to the team. The team was superb, Mog the Captain, Ahmed the Waiter, Yoonus the Room Boy, and especially Bablu the Chef, who made us delicious meals from his small floating kitchen. They made the trip exceptional. An excellent holiday, and definitely value for money.

Tour Leader Name

Bongo

How Was Your Explore Tour Leader

Bongo was excellent, he guided us through the atolls, and the snorkeling and was attentive to all our needs. If he saw something special (e.g. Rays), he would add a jump in the water to benefit from the beautiful creatures. Thanks to him, we had a superb holiday.

What Tips Would You Give To Someone Else Booking This Tour

Book it!

Do You Have Anything Else To Add

This was our first Explore tour, and will not be our last. We enjoyed the small group, who were all seasoned Explore members. They shared their experiences which helped to plan for the future. The Voyage Maldive crew and organisation could not be faulted. Only bad thing was the trash building up on the islands. This needs to be fixed by the Government, as it is a bad advert for the Madives and the Maldivians.

 
10 , 16/10/13

Name

Clare

Tour Code

MC

What Was The Highlight Or Most Memorable Moment Of Your Tour

The colours of the sea were an amazing set of blues that lifted the spirits and created a feeling of freedom to roam far away from crowds of people. The snorkling was easy to master and provided a fantastic view of the fish. Each snorkle took place on a different reef allowing us to see a whole range of fish, turtles, rays and even reef sharks. The colours of the fish were incredibly vibrant, who could believe that flourescent pink would combine so well with lime green and a whole variety of spots and stripes on one fish.

Tour Leader Name

Bongo

How Was Your Explore Tour Leader

Bongo was laid-back but quietly in charge of smooth operations. Great introduction to the game of spoon which caused great hilarity. Sri Lankan Airlines are getting a reputation for lack of quality. The Maldivian's use the UL code as Usually Late or Unable to Locate. The aeroplane seats were very uncomfortable, the lumbar support was in the wrong place and seemed to be triangular in design. Over the course of 11 hour plus flight it was very uncomfortable. The flight was delayed 2 and half hour in London and then a further delay of 7 hours in Srilanka meant I lost a portion of my holiday and was bored rigid for 7 hours in a small airport.

What Tips Would You Give To Someone Else Booking This Tour

Leave the shoes at home, pack less clothes but a higher sun factor and get a waterproof camera.

Our Response

Thank you for your feedback. It’s good to know you enjoyed the holiday, but we’re sorry you were not happy with Sri Lankan Airlines. Our Flight Contracts Manager can raise the timekeeping issues at his next meeting with the airline representatives, but we are unlikely to be able to do anything about the aircraft.  It’s really the only feasible airline to use for this tour, but any encouragement we can give them to improve, we will do so.

 
10 , 04/10/13

Name

Colin

Tour Code

MC

What Was The Highlight Or Most Memorable Moment Of Your Tour

Fishing with captain mo out in the rib most evenings

Tour Leader Name

Bongo

How Was Your Explore Tour Leader

Bongo was magic

What Tips Would You Give To Someone Else Booking This Tour

Just do it

Do You Have Anything Else To Add

Captain Mo & his crew, thank you all for a great trip

 
10 , 15/08/13

Name

Emma

Tour Code

MC

What Was The Highlight Or Most Memorable Moment Of Your Tour

This is the second time I have done this trip so my most memorable moments are different as I saw the amazing wildlife, underwater worlds and beautiful islands last year (see my review below)! My highlight this year was creating our own version of Harlem Shake on a deserted sandbank in the middle of the ocean. It was definately something I'll never have the chance to do again. Our tour leader (come director) Bongo and star of the video, Boaty had us in hysterics. The final video is s great memore to cherish.

Tour Leader Name

Bongo

How Was Your Explore Tour Leader

Bongo and the rest of the crew were fantastic. They were professional but also up for a laugh.

What Tips Would You Give To Someone Else Booking This Tour

"Pack lightly! Invest in a good waterproof camera. Take a t-shirt / rash vest for snorkelling. Everyday there are 2 organised snorkels and lots of lazing around on the boat. There aren't many opportunities to snorkel / swim at other times (apart from a few stops near islands). if you want the freedom to do whatever you want this isn't really the trip for you. "

Do You Have Anything Else To Add

The fact I have been twice now is a testement to how good this trip is.

 
10 , 15/08/13

Name

Emma

Tour Code

MC

What Was The Highlight Or Most Memorable Moment Of Your Tour

This is the second time I have done this trip so my most memorable moments are different as I saw the amazing wildlife, underwater worlds and beautiful islands last year (see my review below)! My highlight this year was creating our own version of Harlem Shake on a deserted sandbank in the middle of the ocean. It was definately something I'll never have the chance to do again. Our tour leader (come director) Bongo and star of the video, Boaty had us in hysterics. The final video is s great memore to cherish.

Tour Leader Name

Bongo

How Was Your Explore Tour Leader

Bongo and the rest of the crew were fantastic. They were professional but also up for a laugh.

What Tips Would You Give To Someone Else Booking This Tour

"Pack lightly! Invest in a good waterproof camera. Take a t-shirt / rash vest for snorkelling. Everyday there are 2 organised snorkels and lots of lazing around on the boat. There aren't many opportunities to snorkel / swim at other times (apart from a few stops near islands). if you want the freedom to do whatever you want this isn't really the trip for you. "

Do You Have Anything Else To Add

The fact I have been twice now is a testement to how good this trip is.

 
10 Vira, 25/02/13

What was the highlight or most memorable moment of your tour?

Being in the middle of the Indian Ocean, away from the hoards of tourists. Having peace, fresh air, quiet time to relax and enjoy the surroundings and the wonderful company on board the boat. The amazing food prepared daily by Babloo - you are in awe at what he creates. Great chill out time and this is a holiday to relax and unwind. All crew were very friendly - cabins were cleaned daily, the captain got us to each place safely, morning/afternoon tea/coffee was always provided and tables cleared promptly.

Read more
 
10 Helena, 17/01/13

What was the highlight or most memorable moment of your tour?

Wonderful crew of the Gulfaam - Captain Chaaley, Babloo, Masud, Farish & tour leader, Bongo. Beautiful snorkelling locations, dolphins, island visits, Christmas Day beach BBQ & delicious food prepared fresh everyday by Babloo. Best holiday ever ! Special thanks also to the crew of Sea Coral (especially Captain Ralph for his magnificent photos !)We met some great travelling companions - friends for life.

Read more
 
8 SB, 15/01/13

What was the highlight or most memorable moment of your tour?

 Jumping from the boat into crystal clear waters whenever I felt like, walking and swimming off sandbanks and gorgeous deserted islands that sprouted in the middle of nowhere every single day,the contrast of several shades of blue in the gorgeous ocean,the wonderful crew.

Read more
 
10 Eva, 11/01/13

What was the highlight or most memorable moment of your tour?

"Most memorable moment - Dolphins swimming and jumping around the boat
Highlights - Bongo and the crew and fellow travellers, the snorkelling, the beach BBQ, swimming with a turtle, the food, sleeping on deck, all the fish, seeing my family VERY content and happy.....JUST ABOUT EVERYTHING"

Read more
 
10 NH, 11/01/13

What was the highlight or most memorable moment of your tour?

The whole trip was most enjoyable - a brilliant way to see the Maldives.  The boat crew were wonderful - so friendly, efficient and all very good at what they did! They really made the holiday.  The snorkelling was great - loads of amazing fish, and turtles.  Dolphins swimming alongside the boat.

Read more
 
10 Jane, 07/01/13

What was the highlight or most memorable moment of your tour?

World class snorkelling. Don't be put off by talk of choppiness/currents. It was never too choppy once you were in and where there was a current it was carefully designed to carry you effortlessly along the reef like a moving walkway! It was my first time snorkelling properly but after Bongo helped me build my confidence on the first day i felt perfectly safe and the experience was extraordinary. I wouldn't have missed it for the world.

Read more
 
8 Sian Flynn, 02/01/13

What was the highlight or most memorable moment of your tour?

Snorkelling.  Beyond all expectations - drifting through a shoal of angel fish was unforgettable.

Read more
Our Response

This tour has, as indicated in the Tour Notes, a local rep to assist our customers rather than an Explore tour leader, but we will check with our local agent that a good quality local staff member is being provided. We have had a look at the comfort grading, and have now changed this to our Simple classification, which we feel will not raise expectations above what is provided.

 
0 EC, 30/04/12
This truely was a perfect holiday. If you are looking for pure relaxation, white sand, turquoise seas, wonderful food, amazing sea creatures, stunning scenery and 8 days of stress free living this is the holiday for you! I didn't know what to expect as I have never done a boating holiday before but this exceeded all my expectations. Highlights: honestly.... everything! Everytime we thought we had seen the most beautiful islands the next day they were even better. Everytime we asked the guide to show us something he provided it, dolphins, turtles, sharks, mantarays, stingrays and Nemo! Sailing for hours in a deserted ocean not seeing a single soul is something you won't experience very often in life.The food was truely amazing, I have no idea how the chef did it. Advice: pack lightly as cabins are small. If you are travelling solo you will probably have to share a room with a stranger and they are very small. You can sleep on deck though weather permitting. There isn't a lot of time off the boat and no time to go off on your own. I didn't find this a problem and I usually like my own space! A good digital underwater camera is a must. Surprises: seeing the stunning under the sea world, made even better by a guide who could dive down 8m and take stunning pictures for you! Spending the morning in the most iydilic setting with dolphins, turtles and stingrays all around us then spending the afternoon anchored in the ocean on Tsunami alert with the crew making us feel quite safe. It is slightly different to other explore holidays as you can 100% relax and leave the chaos and stresses of everyday life behind for 8 days. I can't recommend this holiday highly enough and I will most definitely be booking again for next easter.
 
0 Andrew Walker, 10/04/12
This really was one of the best holidays I have ever done, and in my view a fantastic way to see the Maldives and get off the beaten track, away from the resorts. My highlights - Snorkeling with a turtles and white tip reef sharks, one of the most amazing experiences, and something which I will never forget. Seeing the Dolphins swimming with our boat on the first day! The meal we had on the beach, how the crew did all that in such a short amount of time I will never know - I wont give too much away.     Sailing through the different Atolls passing the time with your fellow passangers. The food on the Dhoni is superb, and a few cold beers in the evening is a great way to finish off the day.     The daily snorkel trips are fantastic, the guide really knew his stuff and put my snorkeling abilities to shame when he dives down 8m+ to search for the different types of fish to point out for us.     The cabins are basic but I slept on deck every night under the stars. I am so happy I did this trip, the entire holiday was an amazing experience.
 
0 Sue Hopkins, 11/01/12
Having returned yesterday from this holiday I just want to write down a few thoughts before returning to reality! I felt that I have just had one of the most incredible holidays. Living on a small boat was such a wonderful and interesting experience - certainly different! There was not much to stop you falling into the sea if you weren't careful. This was such a refreshing change to our cosseted, 'health and safety conscious' unadventurous lifestyle back at home. I loved the frission of excitement when getting into our dingy from the boat to go snorkelling. Were we going to enter gracefully or tumble in with legs akimbo? However, there was no danger - our wonderful crew made sure that we were safe and even took our flippers off for us under water before we clambered back on board. Our crew and tour leader were exemplary. They looked after us with such attention it was impossible to fault them. They even arranged our sheets in the shape of fish or boats each day, serviettes were fashioned into fans, fish and, on our last day, aeroplanes! The highlight of the holiday was, undoubtedly, the AMAZING sea life. We saw enormous pods of dolphins racing our boat, jumping and spinning. Turtles would languidly swim by. The sight of a shark was very exciting even though we were told that they weren't dangerous. Underwater was another world! We all tried to remember the hundreds of different fish we saw with the help of the boat's book and many excited discussions ensued about who saw what! We swam with manta rays and even saw, up close and personal, sting rays! Seeing turtles swimming towards you was a real experience. The candle-lit dinner on a deserted island left us all speech-less. Our crew spent so much time preparing for it and the result was one of the most magical evening of my life. I won't describe any more as I don't want to spoil it for future travellers. This brings me onto the food. The cook on the boat deserves some sort of award. How can someone prepare and deliver the vast array of delicious and copious amounts of food from such a tiny galley?! It was all beautifully presented, imaginative and delectable! Thank goodness we all snorkelled to try to not end up looking like the back end of a bus. Yes, the cabins were a bit snug but what do you expect on a fishing boat? They were exceptionally clean and had fans (thank goodness!). The toilets and combined showers took a bit of getting used to but, hey, they were functional, clean and there were no problems with queuing. There was plenty of room on the boat for those who wanted to sit, sleep, sun-bathe. There were ten of us on the trip and we all got on famously. I went on my own and shared a cabin with a wonderful person  - don't worry about travelling on your own, you end up with lots of great friends! A few tips:  ladies -take a couple of long-sleeved cotton shirts/blouses for going ashore to cover up (Muslim country). Even though we were given a lovely tee-shirt for snorkelling in, it would be a good idea to take a high-necked swimming top and longish lycra-type shorts to cover exposed body in the water when snorkelling. Just say it was a bit uncomfortable to sit down for a day because of burnt parts! Antihistamine cream may be a good idea as one day we came across a few tiny jellyfish which gave us a few minor stings. Don't take too many clothes and shoes - I just wore a swimming cozzie and sarong in bare feet all day. Sun factor 50 is essential. I was pleased I took my travelling neck cushion as it made the deckchairs more comfortable to snooze in. If you are wanting a complete chill-out time with added adventure, what are you waiting for? Book this holiday!
 
0 MQ, 11/01/12
I did the land only trip and stayed one night in Malle before meeting up with the group on Christmas Day. We all bonded from the beginning and enjoyed a week of sailing around the islands in 30 degree sunshine. Highlights included seeing Turtles, Mant Rays and Dolphins along with visits to inhabited and uninhabited islands. The crew went out of there way to make us comfortable and the cook produced wonderful healthy meals which suited all tastes ( veggie and non veggie).The candlelit meal on the island was special. Snorkelling was in deep, choppy waters which I found challenging so mostly opted out, but this was not an issue as I spotted all the creatures from the boat. The last day tour around Malle was interesting and I was impressed how enviromentally friendly the Maldivians appear to be. . Take very little -  shorts, T Shirts, swimwear,plenty of sunscreen and mosquito spray. Make sure you have respectable clothing when visiting the islands and although you can bring your own snorkell and mask there is really no need as the company equipment was very good. This trip was truely memorable for all the right reasons.
 
0 Philip Douglas, 27/10/11
The trip was very good and the group most enjoyable.  The weather was rather too hot in August and the bus cramped and with inadequate air conditioning for such long distances in temperatures up to 50 degrees. (MC -31st july 2011)
 
0 HJ, 11/02/11
A much more relaxed trip than the normal Explore holiday. The scenary in the Maldives is beautiful, the weather perfect, and the marine life excellent. The food on the boat is very good - don't let the dossier's claim it's 'very hot and spicy' put you off - it is anything but! As a frequent Explore traveller I'm surprised this tour gets such a high comfort rating - I found the boat far less comfortable than camping, for example. The cabins are tiny, the beds too short even for 5 foot nothing me, and a fair degree of agility is needed to clamber around the boat - I wouldn't recommend this trip to anyone who has restricted movement. Be warned that the 'Bodu Beru' drum night involves a large degree of audience participation - and there's no alcohol to take the self-conscious edge off! The dossier states that there's plenty of 'free time for snorkelling' which isn't quite right. There's plenty of free time for reading/relaxing etc. but snorkelling independently is not possible on this trip. Generally we did two guided snorkels a day, lasting from 20 mins-1 hour. We saw some incredible reefs and fish etc. in those but don't expect to be snorkelling all day or independently. You need to be a confident swimmer to get the most out of the snorkels as you are often in challenging conditions such as strong currents or rough water. Keep a camera with you on deck when travelling as dolphins may come alongside. Be sure to take a long sleeved top and shorts or trousers to snorkel in - by the end of the week everyone had graduated from swimwear to fully dressed. Old sports or trekking tops are ideal. If you have long hair take plenty of conditioner to avoid birds-nest hair! Take a soft bag eg. trek bag rather than a hard suitcase. There are electric points in the cabin for recharding things etc. - British plugs work, no need for adapters. (MC - 1st January 2011)
 
0 JSK, 29/12/10
Highlights - being given a gift of Fonaroshi by a little girl - swimming with the Manta Rays.  Unexpected - the candlelit meal on the beach.  Tips - pack very little.  Issues - why does the factsheet talk about malaria tablets when The Maldives is malaria free - make it clear in the factsheet that you provide towels for washing and beach towels.  Staff - great crew - Yusree the guide could not do enough to help us - if we had snorkelled alone we would have missed so much (MC - 27th November 2010)
 
0 jeanette martin, 29/12/10
Highlights - Being a small dot in the Indian Ocean with ribbons of blue sea and white sandy beaches. Seeing dolphins put on an acrobatic display! Catching dinner on a hand line when I went fishing and swimming with a manta ray even though I never could catch it up! Unexpected - how wonderful the food was! And the poor weather on some days. Advice to others - enjoy every minute! Take factor 50 sun tan lotion and half as many clothes as you were going to - the cabins are very small. (MC - 13th November 2010)
 
0 CK, 19/10/10
Azure skies, turquoise water stretched forever to the horizon, an occasional palm island in the distance, a gentle breeze and warm air wrapped around my body.  The Dhoni home invited us to clear the cobwebs from our busy minds, feed our spirit and let our bodies breath.  Magic snorkelling in the velvet sea, the marine life exquisite, the deserted islands like a dream come true.  We banqueted three times a day on board, our cook a master artisan at his craft. The crew fantastic, kind and courteous.  Fellow travellers blended into friends.  Amazingly great holiday! (MC - 22nd August 2010)
 
 
Submit a Tour Review
  1. Name(*)
    Please supply your name
  2. Summarise Your Experience
    Invalid Input
  3. Email address(*)
    Please supply your name
  4. Tour name (i.e. Inca Trail Trek)
  5. Tour Code (i.e. PQ)
    Invalid Input
  6. What was the highlight or most memorable moment of your tour?(*)
    Please summerise your experience
    maximum characters 800 (approx. 150 words)
  7. Tour leader name
  8. How Was Your Explore Tour Leader?
    Invalid Input
    maximum characters 800 (approx. 150 words)
  9. What tips would you give to someone else booking this tour?
    Invalid Input
    maximum characters 800 (approx. 150 words)
  10. Overall, how would you rate your holiday? (10 Being Perfect)(*)
    Please rate your trip
  11. Do you have anything else to add?
    Invalid Input
    maximum characters 800 (approx. 150 words)

  12.   Can't read it - click to try anotherIncorrect answer to CAPTCHA