It appears that your web browser does not support JavaScript, or you have temporarily disabled scripting. The Explore website requires JavaScript enabled to operate correctly.

Find a trip

Where would you like to go?
What type of trip do you like?
When would you like to go?
More search options
574 Matching trips
Site Search

Brochures

Discover our latest brochures available online now, with hundreds of adventures to choose from.

E-newsletter

Be the first to hear about great new tours, competitions, special offers and unique departures.

Customer Feedback

Read reviews

Gift Vouchers

The perfect gift idea for any occasion. Send gift vouchers and create fantastic memories with vast trips and experiences to choose from.

Maldive Dhoni Cruise MC

Visiting: Maldives
Tour Duration 8 Days
 

Reviews for Maldive Dhoni Cruise

Travellers were asked to provide a review of the trip, including highlights and tips.

Tour notes

Each departure date has it's own dedicated tour note, detailing all you need to know about that tour. Whether you've already booked, or weighing up your options, please choose carefully the relevant itinerary for you.

We have the following different versions of the Maldive Dhoni Cruise tour available at present.

Please select a date:

Download

Maldive Dhoni Cruise reviews verified by Reevoo

42 reviews

Reviews from: Sort by:
Maldive Dhoni CruiseScores 9.0 out of 10 based on 42 reviews
(9 out of 10)

Ian

Fair Oak, Eastleigh
The tour was very enjoyable. It had a good ratio of guests to staff and the itinerary was paced fairly well. The knowledge and enthusiasm of the staff in their respective areas of expertise was very, very good. The chefs on both boats deserve special praise here, for what seems like non stop food production of excellent quality, although fussy eaters beware! You must show the 'Explore' attitude to trying all things to get the best out of the catering. The exceptional knowledge of the local reefs by the captains and tour leaders, (we were fortunate and had an additional Explore tour leader volunteering to make up crew numbers for this trip) made every snorkel magical, and more than me expectations of sea creature viewings and safe reef and island exploration. As always, the organisation of Explore trips from the airport meet, to the airport goodbye was faultless. We would suggest that the walking tour of Male could be dropped, as those with a penchant to walk around a very small, busy area could do so unaccompanied, but generally we all felt that booking us into a hotel with a nice pool or lounge - in order that we could all spend the initial hours there recovering from various long haul flights, before the organised taxis whisked us off for the first group Maldivian meal in a small local cafe, which was a very nice way to mix all the guests together. There were a couple of days where we all became restless and needed to move on, so feel that the itinerary could be tweaked allowing perhaps another snorkel at a different location- especially for the final sailing day and final night's stopover which we felt was more about convenient logistics to the staff rather than experience for the passengers. That said, this didn't spoil what has been an amazing trip and the best way to enjoy the various atolls by far, rather than sitting on one resort.
Confirmed traveller: 03 April 2016
Published on: 16 April 2016
(10 out of 10)

Confirmed traveller

An incredibly relaxing week. The first night in Malé was interesting to see a bit of 'normal' Maldivian life and the city was certainly an incredible contrast to the dreamscapes of the atolls. The rest of the week was fantastic - beautiful snorkelling, a manta by the boat all night, turtles, fish, dolphins, sharks, rays - and the delicious food topped off with a wonderful beach banquet! A special shout out to Captain Mo and the crew of the Sea Coral.
Confirmed traveller: 12 December 2015
Published on: 15 April 2016
(10 out of 10)

Marie

Neath, Wales
The tour guide and crew were outstanding, food was excellent, freshly made by our on board chef, we even managed to catch some fish from the boat for a BBQ on the beach. Teddy the tour guide was excellent with the children, full of fun, a real big brother to them both. A holiday to remember.
Confirmed traveller: 10 April 2016
Published on: 14 April 2016
(6 out of 10)

Emma

Leeds
The boat was very cramped for 6 people plus the crew. The food was outstanding, every single meal.
The leader acted unprofessionally on several occasions (play fighting with the crew, which after a while gets annoying). I don't think it sets a good impression for him or the company. I was disappointed with his leadership.
Confirmed traveller: 27 March 2016
Published on: 06 April 2016

We’re sorry to hear that you were disappointed with your Explore Leader – he has been leading our trips since 2015 and usually receives great feedback, so it’s a shame that you found him to be unprofessional on occasions. Although we are happy for our leaders to relax with the group, we do ask that they always stay professional and we have made sure to address this with him. We really appreciate your feedback and we do hope you enjoyed your overall experience.

Jasmine, Customer Relations

(8 out of 10)

G

Northampton
Wow, where do I start....what an amazing holiday experience.

From start to finish Explore managed the holiday very well. The crew of the boat were friendly and had excellent local knowledge.

The cruise around the Maldive atolls was full of breathtaking views, turquoise seas, sandy beaches, amazing snorkelling (corals, plenty of brightly coloured fish, sharks, turtles and also a sight of the elusive manta ray!) and throughout the day there was tasty freshly prepared food available.
Confirmed traveller: 03 April 2016
Published on: 04 April 2016
(8 out of 10)

Raelene

Vancouver Canada
Snorkeling was great! Crew were great! Food was great! Cabin too small for two people, top bunk very small with poor ventilation, deck chairs long past their comfort zone. But it was a really good trip, we guests were very well looked after by the crew, both in the water and out. We were not informed until we received the final itinerary that the first day would be spent in Male - for me it was a wasted day that would have been much better sailing and snorkeling.
Confirmed traveller: 28 March 2016
Published on: 31 March 2016
(9 out of 10)

Keith

Chobham, Surrey
The dhoni crew on the GAHAA were excellent, particularly the chef (from Bangladesh name to us Noel (real name Nooy) As Explore said the chef was 'talented', he certainly was and even gave us a fish curry cooking demonstration. This was spontaneous and the finished tuna curry was first class. The waiter, who we called Victor was excellent too. The captain most helpful when snorkelling leading a less confident swimmer by the hand to show her things to see. The cabin boy was good too and always kept things clean, tidy and folded our sheets in a delightful fan shape every day.
The snorkelling sessions were very good - we saw lots of beautiful fish, turtles, sharks and lovely coral. The island visits were a little disappointing especially the uninhabited ones as they were virtually covered with plastic rubbish, old corrugated iron etc. I suspect it was dumped there.
The reason I have marked the Explore Leader at '5' is that I didn't feel that Teddie, or your Representative at Male Airport had your Clients best interests at heart. i.e. The Airport Rep. was ill informed of the arrival times of the Explore Clients, initially insisted we wait to join the rest of the group before taking us to the Hotel - we arrived at 0945, the rest in the afternoon from Colombo, whom she said would be arriving within the hour. When this did not materialise, we said we would make our own way to the hotel, assuming it was within walking distance from the airport, as implied in your Holiday Itinerary, 'Sun. 06 March -join tour in Male' (Page 4 of 9)- this was initially refused as it was pointed out to us we had to get a ferry from The Airport Island to Male and then find our way to the hotel, which she did not recommend. After another 1/2 hr another Voyage Maldive Rep. accompanied us to the hotel. I feel it would be more helpful if the Itinerary made it clear that the Airport is on a separate island to Male and would necessitate a ferry ride to the hotel.
As for our Tour Leader Teddie, we felt he was a bit immature in his approach to situations, and once more did not have your Clients' best interests at heart. As we were divided into two boats, a 'them and us' scenario tended to develop and felt that if a joint daily briefing was held on one boat, this would help us to 'gel' more.
I feel this explanation of a low mark for Tour Leader is for Explore benefit, but despite this we had a very enjoyable, lovely holiday and would recommend dhoni cruising to others.
1 of 2 people found this review helpful
Confirmed traveller: 13 March 2016
Published on: 15 March 2016
(9 out of 10)

Michael

Chester
Last Sunday my wife and I returned from a Maldives Dhoni Cruise. Ref EX1038132.
I have the following observations:-
Although I received diabetic meals on the Emirates flights to Kochi and back to Manchester, the Sri Lankan Airways flights to Male via Colombo had nothing for me. I would also like to know why we could not have flown directly from Kochi to Male. There was a flight that day around midday.
The man from Voyages Maldives who met us at Male Airport seemed to be poorly advised about the people he was meeting. Firstly he annoyed us all by keeping us all waiting for about half an hour whilst he tried to find a package his boss wanted him to take to the town. He spoke very quietly to only one or two about what was going on, whilst the rest where left uninformed. When we got to the Mookai hotel, he was under the impression that we knew about details of the trip which in fact none of us did. i.e. who was sharing with whom, and who was on which boat. We did not even know that there were two boats for us. He then told us that we were not eating at the Mookai hotel, and that we would have to go somewhere else. He told us that our guide would meet us in the morning. We all felt uneasy about this and asked him to telephone our tour leader, and try to get him to come over A.S.A.P. This he did, and when Moosa appeared, he answered all our questions, and we all felt a lot better. We have done many Explore holidays, and this was the most chaotic start we have ever experienced.
The group was taken on a 1 hour walking tour of Male by a local guide. He was not very good. His English was poor, and he did not understand our questions. Additionally, at the end of the tour he took us to an expensive gift shop which he obviously had an arrangement with. I do not think that any of us purchased anything. We were not impressed.
Moosa then took us out for a meal to a very cheap local ‘fast food’ café. The ‘VIP’ room we were in was too small for the group, and the food was very poor quality. Overall, this was a very poor start to the holiday.
Although Rejanish V.S. had been aware of my diabetic condition on the previous week’s excellent trip to the Kerala Backwaters, Moosa Mohamed, our leader on the Maldives Cruise had not been informed. Apart from receiving sugar free pancakes one morning, no other provision was made for my condition.
I was agitated and annoyed when Moosa requested that we all fill in a blank personal details form when Explore had been given all these details months earlier.
On the day we left the boat, and went to the airport, I feel that we all got there much too late. We arrived at 7.30am, and were in 6 queues for the next hour and a half, and entered the aircraft 5 minutes after the official time for the gate to close. During this stressful time we were feeling very anxious. I had questioned our planned airport arrival time with Moosa the evening before we left the boat, and was assured that a 7.30am arrival at the airport would be adequate. It was not. The airport was chaotic. There were hundreds of people arriving around the same time, and we didn’t stop queuing or walking for one and a half hours. I would recommend a 6.30am arrival time at the airport for this holiday.
Confirmed traveller: 29 February 2016
Published on: 12 March 2016
(8 out of 10)

Valerie

London
Spent first night in a hotel which wasn't great but could we have been put directly on the boat ? Would have been better. Good knowledgable tour leader , helpful wonderful boat staff,lovely snorkelling and good equipment. Amazing food on the boat. One of the group became ill and needed
hospitalisation on day
one which altered our itinerary .
Confirmed traveller: 14 February 2016
Published on: 29 February 2016
(9 out of 10)

George

Turvey, Bedfordshire
An unforgettable holiday,weather,snorkeling and variety of sea creatures amazing.However this would not have been special without the care and dedication of the Sea Coral crew. The marine knowledge of the Explore representative (Moosa) was exceptional, always helpful and informative. I would be remiss not to mention the Captain of the Sea Coral (Juju) who turned my lack of snorkeling ability into a delightful and safe experience enabling me to enjoy all those creatures under the surface. Plenty of factor 50 Sun cream and rash vest.
Confirmed traveller: 14 February 2016
Published on: 26 February 2016