It appears that your web browser does not support JavaScript, or you have temporarily disabled scripting. The Explore website requires JavaScript enabled to operate correctly.

Find a tour

Where would you like to go?
What type of tour do you like?
When would you like to go?
More search options
464 Matching trips
Site Search

Brochures

Our latest  brochures are available now, with over 600 adventures for you to choose from.

Gift Vouchers

Send gift vouchers and create fantastic memories with over 600 tours & experiences to choose from. The perfect gift idea for any occasion.

E-newsletter

Be the first to hear about great new tours, competitions, special offers and unique departures.

Customer Reviews

Average Rating: Red-stars

Total number of reviews: 1,843

Exotic Java & Bali JV

Visiting: Indonesia
Tour Duration 14 Days
  • Penataran Temple
  • Prambanan
  • Stunning views of Mount Bromo
  • Bali's paddy fields
  • Prambanan Temple
  • Tour Style: Classic
  • Tour Type: Small Groups
  • Tour Pace: Busy
  • Tour Comfort: Standard
 

Book now!

10 reviews for this tour

Been on this tour? Why not share your experiences by adding your review

Add a review

Tour notes

Each departure date has it's own dedicated tour note, detailing all you need to know about that tour. Whether you've already booked, or weighing up your options, please choose carefully the relevant itinerary for you.

We have the following different versions of the Exotic Java & Bali tour available at present.

Please select a date:

Download
8 , 17/11/13

Name

Sandi

Tour Name

Tribal Encounters

Tour Code

SJB

What Was The Highlight Or Most Memorable Moment Of Your Tour

Has to be the one to one encounter with the orang-utans in the open forest - only our guide and our group, away from the crowds and the 'feeding platforms'. Sadly, I see that the stay on Sumatra has now been cut from the Indonesia tour.

Tour Leader Name

Miss Evy

How Was Your Explore Tour Leader

Miss Evy is quite the most hard-working and engaging of any local tour leader I've met on 20 tours with Explore. She worked so hard behind the scenes to make it a true holiday for us all. And always with a lovely cheerful smile.

What Tips Would You Give To Someone Else Booking This Tour

Don't be put off by the time spent on the bus - you'll have the chance to see rural life in the slow lane and spot infringements of every section of the Highway Code. Look out for the mythical 6-people-on-one-bike: we not infrequently saw 5!

Do You Have Anything Else To Add

Some may find Bali a bit disappointing after Java. The hotels are very comfortable but Lovina Beach and Ubud are very touristy. Expect to come home with a serious massage-habit; every hotel offers you inexpensive and excellent massages - try the Mandi Lular for total relaxation!

 
10 , 15/08/13

Name

Jack

Tour Name

Exotic Java and Bali

Tour Code

JV

What Was The Highlight Or Most Memorable Moment Of Your Tour

Everything was exciting and memorable, even the temples!!! The trip really started in Candi Sukuh and that fantastic village was great but Bromo and Ijen were the highlights

Tour Leader Name

Buddhi

How Was Your Explore Tour Leader

Very helpful, assuring and generally very slick

What Tips Would You Give To Someone Else Booking This Tour

don't be put off by temple visits, borobodur in particular is great as it isn't packed with tourists like angkor! do the dolphin trip in lovina

Do You Have Anything Else To Add

Having previously stayed in a villa in bali a few years back, i must say how much more commercialized the island has become but at least in Java you experience real Indonesia!

 
8 , 15/08/13

Name

Jayant Ramji

Tour Code

JV

What Was The Highlight Or Most Memorable Moment Of Your Tour

Views over Tennegar caldera and sunrise over Mt Bromo and surrounding area. I also enjoyed going through various villages and interesting temples (particularly in Bali).

Tour Leader Name

Buddhi

How Was Your Explore Tour Leader

He was particularly helpful to me in trying to arrange Sim cards for my phone and other activities such as changing money etc. He was a little quiet and not particularly forthcoming with too much information about Indonesia and the sites we were visiting.

What Tips Would You Give To Someone Else Booking This Tour

Unfortunately, we didn't have god weather and so I would advise people to go later in the year when weather is more stable and views are better.

 
0 JM Kyle, 19/12/11
I think this must have been one of the best tours I have been on.  The landscapes were so beautiful and the people lovely.  The temple complexes were magnificent considering that they have been rebuilt from scratch with no plans!  What I and my husband most enjoyed were the village walks.  They went through the most beautiful scenic farmland but it was very steep in places.  The guide Eddy was very good and considerate.He really loves his country and this shone through.  The Ramayana ballet is a must for everyone.  Throughout the whole trip there was a variety of activities and accomodation, but towards the end we personally were a bit templed out.  Also at the Besakih temple complex there were alot of 'sharks' and I wouldn't recommend getting split up from the group. (JV - 7th May 2011)
 
0 Greg Tebble, 27/10/11

One of the highlights of the holiday for me was the wonderful friendliness of the local people both in Java and in Bali. As a keen photographer I was delighted to find locals queueing to have their photos taken. 

Some of the scenery was spectacular particularly that in the vicinity of the many volcanos.  I loved the walks, particularly the longer one in Bali where we walked through rice fields, local villages and a little jungle with some super opportunities to observe and photograph local wildlife.  The standard of accommodation was pleasingly better than I expected.  The food was good and varied, particularly in Bali but be prepared for some very hot days and a couple of long travel days.  Other than that, a very good holiday and a great experience interacting with the local people. (JV -10th september 2011)

 
0 Richard Appleton, 27/10/11

Some airlines, like the one that crosses the atlantic are OK, but Malasian Airlines are towards the top of the pile and so the journey was less arduous for my old bones. I love the whole thing about Asia and Indonesia and it doesn't disappoint There is the hussle and bustle but not so much as Indian cities, there is culture and there is Durian, try it, to me it tastes like mild pickled onions with the texture of thick cold custard. It is truly an acquired taste. Then there is the gamalan music, that jangle of percussion instruments which, if you listen carefully, works in just the same way as a western orchestra.

My favourite has to be the wooden instruments, they just conjour up the calm of the countryside and chillin' with a bunch of little bananas in a shady spot.  The highlight of this trip was the climb up and views from the top of Kawah Ijen [OK the smell was pretty strong if you stood in the wrong place but its volcanic and active so.....]. 

After a steep climb, about 3km up an average 1:6 gradient i thought i did well to maintain the back marker position but the experience was as much about the journey as the view from the top. [See 'Human Planet part 5] 

I could't help wondering how this compared to Mt Bromo, I doubt I'll never know but I feel sure this was better so thank you mother nature for your timely intervention triggering Bromo's activity. We did drive past it but sight of the rim was obstructed by cloud and ash. 

The second highlight was the 4 hour walk from Kastala to Tenganan on Bali. A bit hot and sticky especially through the jungly bit of the walk but worth every step, the local guide was excellent as were the refreshments half way through [with a toilet to die for....in Indonesia] with the farmer almost blinded by cataracts playing the local music on a gamelan angklung [bamboo zylophone]. Brilliant.  And the people, I can say 'hello' in several languages but i've never been to  a place where the town and countryside people appear to enjoy a brief exchange of words like 'hello'  'how are you' 'I'm good thanks' 'goodbye' as much as here. My recommendation.... learn a few phrases before you go, its an easy language with simple syntax [not at all like english] and make the people smile and engage with you. (JV -4th June 2011)

 
0 Eileen Havard (Explore Staff), 29/12/10
This was a great introduction to Indonesia for me, I had the most amazing time; the islands are truly beautiful. Throughout Java very few tourists it's so unspoilt, not too many in Bali either. Amazing ancient temples - Hindu Prambanan dedicated to Brahma, Shiva & Vishnu, and the Buddhist Borododur with its multiple levels of life until reaching Nirvana at the top.  In Wonosobo in the Dieng Plateau area, we visited a local home hosted by Hankie, he has a collection of masks, knives, musical instruments, his home resembled a small museum it was really interesting. The locals gave a performance that included a small child being eaten by a demon! the whole village turned out to see the show and it was a great opportunity to meet them, they made us feel very welcome. Mount Bromo sat in a gigantic caldera alongside Mount Batoc & Mount Pananjakan the whole scene is absolutely spectacular and the walks around the area give breath-taking scenes at every turn. Lovina beach is practically deserted; opportunities for trips to spot dolphins or snorkelling. We had a fantastic fish BBQ on the beach by the local fisherman and some great music played by the locals. I was charmed by the amount of myticism & spirtualism on both islands. (JV - 6th May 2010)
 
0 Malc Thomas, 22/09/10
A fascinating tour representing exceptional value.Fantastic guide. Trip highlight Mount Bromo at dawn. Hotel standard was really good, far better than expected considering price paid. (JV- 2009)
 
0 Gill Wilkinson, 20/09/10
A fantastic combination of ancient temples and active volcanoes! The temple complex of Borobodur is really indescribable and no pictures can do it justice. It really has to be seen to be believed. By contrast, watching sunrise over Mount Bromo was an almost mystical event - and if you ever wondered where old Land Cruisers end up this will answer the question - as the sun slowly illuminates more and more of the volcanoes in this crater. Looking into the smoking crater of Mount Bromo later that day in a thunderstorm was an experience not to be forgotten if not actually recommended. This part of the tour certainly requires warm clothing which is a bit of a shock after the temperatures in the low lands. The people are very friendly - and want their picture taken with you - and the food excellent. If you want scenery, history, culture and fun this is highly recommended. (JV- 4th July 2010)
 
0 Shirley Crompton, 20/09/10
Mount Bromo, truly amazing. Take some warm cloth for Mount Bromo and an umbrella.  Weather can be very different when travelling through Java. Borobudur lives up to expectations but be prepared for the crowd. (JV- 4th July 2010)
 
 
Submit a Tour Review
  1. Name(*)
    Please supply your name
  2. Summarise Your Experience
    Invalid Input
  3. Email address(*)
    Please supply your name
  4. Tour name (i.e. Inca Trail Trek)
  5. Tour Code (i.e. PQ)
    Invalid Input
  6. What was the highlight or most memorable moment of your tour?(*)
    Please summerise your experience
    maximum characters 800 (approx. 150 words)
  7. Tour leader name
  8. How Was Your Explore Tour Leader?
    Invalid Input
    maximum characters 800 (approx. 150 words)
  9. What tips would you give to someone else booking this tour?
    Invalid Input
    maximum characters 800 (approx. 150 words)
  10. Overall, how would you rate your holiday? (10 Being Perfect)(*)
    Please rate your trip
  11. Do you have anything else to add?
    Invalid Input
    maximum characters 800 (approx. 150 words)

  12.   Can't read it - click to try anotherIncorrect answer to CAPTCHA