It appears that your web browser does not support JavaScript, or you have temporarily disabled scripting. The Explore website requires JavaScript enabled to operate correctly.

Find a trip

Where would you like to go?
What type of trip do you like?
When would you like to go?
More search options
572 Matching trips
Site Search

Brochures

Discover our latest brochures available online now, with hundreds of adventures to choose from.

E-newsletter

Be the first to hear about great new tours, competitions, special offers and unique departures.

Customer Feedback

Read reviews

Gift Vouchers

The perfect gift idea for any occasion. Send gift vouchers and create fantastic memories with vast trips and experiences to choose from.

Reviews for Classical Sicily

Travellers were asked to provide a review of the trip, including highlights and tips.

Trip notes

Each departure date has it's own dedicated trip note, detailing all you need to know about that trip. Whether you've already booked, or weighing up your options, please choose carefully the relevant itinerary for you.

We have the following different versions of the Classical Sicily trip available at present.

Please select a date:

Download

Classical Sicily reviews verified by Reevoo

23 reviews

Reviews from: Sort by:
Classical SicilyScores 8.7 out of 10 based on 23 reviews
(8 out of 10)

John

Sicily has such a complex history that it is worth doing as much background reading as possible beforehand to better understand the sites visited.
Confirmed traveller: 09 April 2016
Published on: 22 April 2016
(9 out of 10)

Sally

London
A great way to see Sicily in a week - highlights were Agrigento and Palermo, the wonderful spring flowers and the excellent guides, not to mention a great tour leader.
Confirmed traveller: 16 April 2016
Published on: 18 April 2016
(7 out of 10)

Michael

Hove
Overall very hectic but worth it. Do take cold weather clothes or hire jacket and shoes at Mount Etna as it really can get cold.
Confirmed traveller: 09 April 2016
Published on: 16 April 2016
(8 out of 10)

Christopher

Didcot
The tour gave a good appreciation of the variety of architectural periods and styles -- Greek and Roman (several well preserved amphitheatres and temples), Byzantine, Arab-Norman, and much Sicilian baroque. The pace was relaxed: there was plenty of free time for exploring the towns and cities, only one early start, and the hotel was usually reached between 5 and 6pm.

The itinerary might be improved by visiting the island of Mozia after leaving Marsala. I gather it used to be on the trip but was then omitted because it left too little time in Erice. I wouldn't want to shorten the time in Erice (which was just about sufficient), or to omit Segesta, but as we reached the hotel at 4:30pm I suggest Mozia could be included without detriment to the other attractions by leaving earlier and arriving at the hotel at 6:30-7pm.

The tour leader could not have been more helpful, and the local guides were all good.
Confirmed traveller: 26 March 2016
Published on: 30 March 2016
(8 out of 10)

Roger

Birmingham
A great overall taster of Sicily visiting lots of different venues.
Confirmed traveller: 26 March 2016
Published on: 29 March 2016
(8 out of 10)

Shelagh

Birmingham
As an 8 day tour, it was impossible to see everything Sicily has to offer, so this trip was a good overview. The standard of the local guides used was excellent and our Tour Leader Mandy was excellent too, hard working, enthusiastic, caring and approachable. I particularly enjoyed the range of historic masterpieces visited, and the (optional) trip to Mount Etna, which as it was only March, and had recently snowed was a real experience. The only place I felt we did not have enough time was Palermo.
Confirmed traveller: 26 March 2016
Published on: 29 March 2016
(10 out of 10)

Deborah

USA
Mandy, our guide, was knowledgeable, accommodating, and an excellent source of great places to dine, eat gelato, and enjoy the local scene. The ruins at Agrigento and the villa at Piazza Amerina were wonderful, but our trip to the top of the snow-covered Mt. Etna was the highlight of my week.
Confirmed traveller: 26 March 2016
Published on: 29 March 2016
(10 out of 10)

Confirmed traveller

The tour was really very well organized and all activities were done as planned. The highlights were Palatine Chapel, Mount Etna and Taormina.Mandy is really an outstanding tour leader due to her sympathy and interpersonal skills.
Confirmed traveller: 14 April 2015
Published on: 07 November 2015
(9 out of 10)

Confirmed traveller

Palermo - the Capella Palatina and Monreale. Absolutely stunning Norman churches with Arab influence and Byzantine-style mosaics.At altitudes both high and low, She points out the places to go. To help with our searches For temples and churches, Clare is the one in the know. If Classical temples you seek, She’ll find them, both Roman and Greek. When you want to get through To the front of the queue For the bus, she’s assertive, not meek. And then at the end of the day, There’ll be somewhere that’s comfy to stay; Whatever Explore Offers, Clare gives us more: Top Tour Leader – no more to say!
Confirmed traveller: 22 April 2014
Published on: 07 November 2015
(10 out of 10)

Confirmed traveller

The mosaics in the royal chapel at Palermo were my absolute highlight: the total effect was overwhelming and, having seen Hagia Sophia and the grand mosque at Damascus, it was very interesting to make comparisons. Anya was excellent - enthusiastic, well-informed and good company.
Confirmed traveller: 11 July 2014
Published on: 07 November 2015