It appears that your web browser does not support JavaScript, or you have temporarily disabled scripting. The Explore website requires JavaScript enabled to operate correctly.

Find a trip

Where would you like to go?
What type of trip do you like?
When would you like to go?
More search options
569 Matching trips
Site Search

Other trips you might like

Brochures

Discover our latest brochures available online now, with hundreds of adventures to choose from.

E-newsletter

Be the first to hear about great new tours, competitions, special offers and unique departures.

Customer Feedback

Read reviews

Gift Vouchers

The perfect gift idea for any occasion. Send gift vouchers and create fantastic memories with vast trips and experiences to choose from.

China On A Shoestring QCH

Visiting: China
Trip Duration 21 Days
 

Reviews for China On A Shoestring

Travellers were asked to provide a review of the trip, including highlights and tips.

Trip notes

Each departure date has it's own dedicated trip note, detailing all you need to know about that trip. Whether you've already booked, or weighing up your options, please choose carefully the relevant itinerary for you.

We have the following different versions of the China On A Shoestring trip available at present.

Please select a date:

Download

China On A Shoestring reviews verified by Reevoo

22 reviews

Reviews from: Sort by:
China On A ShoestringScores 8.5 out of 10 based on 22 reviews
(9 out of 10)

Maureen

Ormskirk
Oliver no 1 Tour Guide made our trip a successful one. He is very knowledgable and informative checking in with us all on meeting times and tours. Organised places to go free time ...privileged to be with a group who all got on. The sleeper trains opens your eyes but enjoyed by all take tea bags/coffee played heads up cards etc and downloaded films helped. The Warriors Pandas and all attractions are amazing . Walking to the guest houses meant you could take in the views although a bit touristy something I didn't expect , worth the visit though. Visit Alice Tea Rooms in Beijing she can tell you about the people and how they live very interesting . Check the extras to get an idea how much it all costs .. ATM for money out save taking too much cash .. River cruise room really nice...4 nights enough not much to do after meal time . upgrade to drinks upstairs as mad rush for food down stairs ... A brilliant cultural experience.. Don't miss it get it booked
Confirmed traveller: 10 April 2016
Published on: 17 April 2016
(8 out of 10)

Confirmed traveller

This holiday exceeded my expectations in many areas. Although it is sold as a 'shoestring' holiday all the hotels and, especially the cruise boat, were of a good standard. The train journeys were long and the bunks were hard but we amused ourselves with party games such as charades (much to the amusement and bemusement of our fellow Chinese travellers) and the time passed quite quickly. The food was great and remarkably cheap - sometimes as little as £5 for a full meal with a beer. None of the main attractions disappointed and at the Great Wall and giant panda reserve we arrived early when there were few other tourists about.If you dont mind roughing it a bit and are happy to carry your luggage at times then this is a holiday you will never forget.Oliver, our tour leader, is a true legend. Extremely knowledgeable, great sense of humour, fastidious on time keeping (as you need to be with so much travelling) and a heart as big as China itself.If you are lucky enough to have him lead your tour it will be a big bonus.
Confirmed traveller: 21 April 2015
Published on: 12 March 2016
(7 out of 10)

Confirmed traveller

Staying in a Hutong/Beijing. Kung Fu theatre - exciting. Warriors visit spectacular despite massive crowds. Climbing umpteen slab steps in amongst paddy fields - peace, quiet amongst lovely wooden villages- exhausting climb - damaged foot didnt help. Kindness of young Chinese. Very hard matresses/pillows everywhere! Frenetic scramble for food by locals on the Yangtze river boat - you have to fight for everything! Bored by continuous sameness of food on eating out. Dont do the 'dumpling/show' - no flavour/amateurish show. Li river trip expensive but impressive. Shanghai night trip-superb light show. Chinese Acrobats show impressive. Spoke very good English. Very informative. Tetchy, grumpy at times due to 2 of our group continously stopping to take umpteen photos - didnt seem to 'control' this somehow. Went out of his way many times, on his time off, to take us to 'other places'. Showed great enthusiasm for his country. He physically helped me with my bags due to my leg being damaged by a wheelchair, early on. Greatly appreciated his concern! Didnt provide us with final list of 'expenses' for our appproval; didnt give out assessment forms; didnt organise a final'email address list of everyone/photocopy it' We organised our own.
Confirmed traveller: 06 October 2014
Published on: 12 March 2016
(8 out of 10)

David

marlow
The great wall and the cruise were the highlights for me.
Be prepared to go to some very busy places. There are a lot of people in China and they all push and shove!!
Confirmed traveller: 01 November 2015
Published on: 09 December 2015
(4 out of 10)

Eugene

Orland, Maine
Shaanxi Museum in Xi-an
Shanghai Museum
Shanghai Arts and Crafts Museum

Get fit especially walking up and down hills and biking.
Confirmed traveller: 25 October 2015
Published on: 26 November 2015

Thanks for the feedback, Eugene, although we’re sorry to see that you found the trip more strenuous that you anticipated. I’ve had a look at our grading for the trip and we do indicate that it’s full on – rather than moderate. Clearly, there’s a great deal to fit in on this 21 day trip, so we need to keep moving in order to meet the itinerary. Despite this point, I do hope that you returned with some positive memories of your time in China.

(10 out of 10)

Confirmed purchaser

Torquay, Devon
The whole holiday was brilliant. I was travelling solo and was worried I would not be able to see everything by myself but Frank the tour guide shepherded the group everywhere so we maximised each location. The highlights are too numerous to mention. Beijing, The Wall,Terracotta Warriors, Pandas, Yangtse cruise, Rice terraces, walking, cycling, the food, bartering, overnight trains and Shanghai. I took a rucksack but it would have been better with a wheeled suitcase.
Be prepared to be very busy, embrace everything.
Confirmed traveller: 11 October 2015
Published on: 19 November 2015
(10 out of 10)

Alan

Heathfield
Terracotta warriors especially, but the whole variety of the trip from the cities and history to the rural, landscapes and cultural aspects. A value for money tour visiting the many and varied highlights of China.
Confirmed traveller: 01 November 2015
Published on: 15 November 2015
(7 out of 10)

Confirmed traveller

This is a busy trip. Early mornings, long days, some steep but short walks in the mountains, gentle bike rides, moving one's own luggage and a lot of travel all take their toll but are worth being reasonably fit for. The cruise ship was not simple - a very comfortable and relaxing part of the trip after Beijing and Xian. Take a small backpack for the two-day, one overnight stay in the mountains as you will leave you main luggage in storage. The accommodation whilst basic was comfortable and clean enough though be prepared for some firm mattresses. Take a picture dictionary, particularly to help in restaurants.
Confirmed traveller: 26 November 2014
Published on: 07 November 2015
(9 out of 10)

Confirmed traveller

Varied and engaging from start to finish. I felt as though I'd experienced many different aspects of China. Highlights - Terrcotta Army in Xi'an, walking in the hills at Pingan, the pandas at Chengdu and the punted boat trip at Yangzhou (but don't book the motorised version as an extra: you'll get noise, fumes & an overcrowded river). Even travelling on the overnight trains was good fun! A terrific leader, always aware of the differing needs of the group members and attending to all effectively, humanity, discretion when required, and with real enthusiasm and good humour.
Confirmed traveller: 22 August 2015
Published on: 07 November 2015
(10 out of 10)

Jill

London
Only book this trip if you want a full-on China experience. Whilst the accommodation may not be first class, this is more than adequately compensated by the 'real' China that you will enter. Beijing is absolutely overwhelming (and I live in London!), the Great Wall is amazing, the giant pandas are cute although the centre is a bit like a zoo but the Terracotta Warriors are fantastic, a real must-see. The whole trip is a cultural experience which will interest any serious traveller, I thoroughly recommend it.
Confirmed traveller: 11 October 2015
Published on: 20 October 2015